understood
log in

Research at the LIR

At the Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research, neuroscientists, doctors and psychologists work together in an interdisciplinary manner. They combine basic molecular research and human research using genetic, epigenetic, metabolic, physiological, psychological and social science methods. The LIR currently comprises ten research groups. Special competencies exist in the fields of molecular biology, epigenetics and cellular neurosciences, namely functional imaging, neurostimulation, and conducting randomized controlled studies, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Furthermore, three research platforms have been established, the services of which are also made available to cooperation partners for a fee. 

Strategies of the LIR

The Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research follows two strategies for researching and promoting resilience:

  1. Using various basic and application-oriented research approaches and methods, we are working to understand the mechanisms of resilience.

  2. Based on this knowledge, we develop interventions that can promote resilience to stressful life events.

In addition, we offer science-based services to the scientific community and the general public. For example, through our research platforms and through guidance in the form of lectures and workshops, as well as our services for developing resilience training that is both needs-based and target group-specific. Our Competence and Consultation Center for questions about stress and resilience, as well as our Resilience Outpatient Clinic for stressed citizens, are currently under construction.

Research strategy 1: Understanding the mechanisms of resilience

The LIR conducts basic scientific and human studies to understand the neuroscientific and psychological mechanisms of resilience. In addition to the research projects of the work groups mentioned below, our long-term studies, the “Mainz Resilience Project” (MARP), “Longitudinal Assessment of Resilience” (LORA) and the “Gutenberg Brain Study” (GBS) should also be noted here.

Research strategy 2: Developing and implementing interventions

Building on the knowledge of resilience mechanisms, the LIR develops resilience-promoting interventions for affected individuals, for example psychological training methods, with which strategies can be practiced for re-evaluating stressful events in daily life, or neurofeedback and neurostimulation processes. The interventions are tested for efficacy in laboratory experiments and in randomized controlled trials.

If new methods prove to be successful, they will be adapted for modern media such as smartphone applications or online programs, for example. Proven interventions are implemented in 

on-site health promotion programs, either in companies or public institutions such as schools or universities. In addition, the LIR conducts systematic reviews and meta-analyses on the international level of knowledge, as well as representative surveys on stressful experiences and resilience, in order to identify target groups that can benefit from interventions that promote resilience.

Contact
Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research (LIR)
Wallstraße 7
55122 Mainz
Phone: +49 (0)6131 89448-77
Further Information

Verstanden

Forschung am LIR

Im Leibniz-Institut für Resilienzforschung arbeiten Neurowissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler, Medizinerinnen und Mediziner sowie Psychologinnen und Psychologen interdisziplinär zusammen. Sie vereinen molekulare Grundlagenforschung und Humanforschung mittels genetischer, epigenetischer, metabolischer, physiologischer, psychologischer und sozialwissenschaftlicher Methoden. Das LIR besteht zurzeit aus zehn Arbeitsgruppen, die international durch hochrangige wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen und Methodenkompetenz ausgewiesen sind. Besondere Kompetenzen bestehen im Bereich der Molekularbiologie, Epigenetik und der zellulären Neurowissenschaften, der funktionellen Bildgebung, der Neurostimulation, der Durchführung randomisiert-kontrollierter Studien und systematischer Reviews und Metaanalysen. Weiterhin sind drei Forschungsplattformen etabliert, deren Dienste gegen Gebühr auch Kooperationspartnern zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Strategien des LIR

Das LIR verfolgt zur Erforschung und Förderung von Resilienz zwei Strategien:

  1. Mittels verschiedener grundlagen- und anwendungsorientierter Forschungsansätze und Methoden arbeiten wir daran, die Mechanismen von Resilienz zu verstehen.

  2. Auf der Basis dieses Wissens entwickeln wir Interventionen, mit denen Resilienz gegenüber stressvollen Lebensereignissen gefördert werden kann.

Daneben bieten wir der wissenschaftlichen Fachgemeinschaft und der breiten Öffentlichkeit wissenschaftsbasierte Dienstleistungen an, zum Beispiel über unsere Forschungsplattformen sowie durch Beratung in Form von Vorträgen und Workshops und unser Angebot zur Entwicklung bedarfsorientierter, zielgruppenspezifischer Resilienztrainings. Unser Kompetenz- und Beratungszentrum zu Fragen rund um Stress und Resilienz sowie unsere Resilienz-Ambulanz für belastete Bürgerinnen und Bürger befinden sich aktuell im Aufbau.

Forschungsstrategie 1: Resilienzmechanismen verstehen

Das LIR führt grundlagenwissenschaftliche Studien und Humanstudien durch, um die neurowissenschaftlichen und psychologischen Mechanismen von Resilienz zu verstehen. Zu nennen sind hier neben den Forschungsprojekten unserer Arbeitsgruppen insbesondere die Langzeitstudien "Mainzer Resilienz-Projekt" (MARP) und "Longitudinal Assessment of Resilience" (LORA) sowie die "Gutenberg Brain Study" (GBS).

Forschungsstrategie 2: Interventionen entwickeln und implementieren

Auf dem Wissen über Resilienzmechanismen aufbauend, entwickelt das LIR resilienzfördernde Interventionen für Betroffene, zum Beispiel psychologische Trainingsmethoden, mit denen Strategien zur Neubewertung von belastenden Ereignissen des täglichen Lebens eingeübt werden können, oder Neurofeedback- und Neurostimulationsverfahren. Die Interventionen werden in Laborexperimenten und in randomisiert kontrollierten Studien auf ihre Wirksamkeit getestet.

Bewähren sich neue Methoden, werden diese zum Beispiel für moderne Medien wie Smartphone-Applikationen oder Online-Programme adaptiert. Bewährte Interventionen werden in der Gesundheitsförderung vor Ort, etwa in Betrieben oder öffentlichen Einrichtungen wie Schulen oder Hochschulen implementiert. Außerdem führt das LIR systematische Reviews und Metaanalysen zum internationalen Wissensstand durch sowie repräsentative Erhebungen zu Stresserleben und Resilienz, um Zielgruppen zu identifizieren, die von resilienzfördernden Interventionen profitieren können.

Kontakt
Leibniz-Institut für Resilienzforschung (LIR) gGmbH
Wallstraße 7
55122 Mainz
Tel.: +49 (0)6131 89448-77
Rechtliches