understood
log in

Areas of research at the LIR

Research at the Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research is focused on three areas:

The three work groups in the research area of “Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms of Resilience”, RG Lutz, RG Müller and RG Schweiger, investigate the hypothesis, particularly in animal models, that cellular processes and their underlying molecular mechanisms significantly contribute to resilience. They assume that resilience is a dynamic adaptation process that is influenced by genetic, epigenetic, biochemical/metabolic and neurophysiological processes, as well as by one’s environment and behavior. The phenomenon of individual variability in response to social and physical stress is central to research with animal models.

The four work groups in the research area of “Systemic Mechanisms of Resilience,” RG Bergmann, RG Kalisch, RG Stroh and RG Tüscher, investigate systemic resilience mechanisms, in particular neural network activities and neurocognitive processes. The research is conducted both in animal models and on healthy subjects. The objective is to identify and validate potential systemic mechanisms of resilience in order to translate them into neurobiological-based resilience-promoting measures for people - neurostimulation processes, for example. These can then be continued and validated in the research area of “Cognitive and Behavioral Mechanisms of Resilience.” To identify and validate resilience mechanisms, prospective long-term studies on subjects are also involved, where necessary. In particular, the long-term studies "Mainz Resilience Project" (MARP) and "Longitudinal Assessment of Resilience" (LORA) should be mentioned here.

The three work groups in the research area of “Cognitive and Behavioral Mechanisms of Resilience”, RG Lieb, RG Rigotti, and RG Wessa, develop neurocognitive and behavioral measures to promote resilience, based on the understanding of resilience mechanisms that are identified and validated in the other two research areas of the LIR, among others. Possible methods include neurostimulation, neurofeedback, smartphone applications and online and computer-based tools, as well as pharmacological interventions. To evaluate the efficacy of the training and interventions, open label and randomized controlled studies are conducted with the support of the Clinical Investigation Center (CIC) platform. Over the long term, these newly developed strategies flow into science-based services to make them accessible to society. The research area of “Cognitive and Behavioral Mechanisms of Resilience” additionally includes the analysis of resilience mechanisms in professional and private life contexts. This is achieved through field studies, the creation of systematic reviews and meta-analyses on the importance of resilience factors and the efficacy of resilience interventions, as well as dealing with ethical questions and critiques of methodology on the topic of resilience.

Contact
Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research (LIR)
Wallstraße 7
55122 Mainz
Phone: +49 (0)6131 89448-77
Further Information

Verstanden

Forschungsbereiche des LIR

Die Forschung des Leibniz-Instituts für Resilienzforschung wird in den folgenden drei Bereichen gebündelt:

Die drei Arbeitsgruppen im Forschungsbereich "Molekulare und zelluläre Mechanismen der Resilienz", AG Lutz, AG Müller und AG Schweiger, untersuchen vor allem im Tiermodell die Hypothese, dass zelluläre Prozesse und deren zugrundeliegenden molekularen Mechanismen wesentlich zur Resilienz beitragen. Sie gehen von der Annahme aus, dass Resilienz ein dynamischer Adaptionsprozess ist, der durch genetische, epigenetische, biochemische/metabolische und neurophysiologische Prozesse sowie durch Umwelt und Verhalten beeinflusst wird. Zentral in der Forschung mit Tiermodellen ist das Phänomen der individuellen Variabilität als Antwort auf sozialen und physischen Stress.

Die vier Arbeitsgruppen im Forschungsbereich "Systemische Mechanismen der Resilienz", AG Bergmann, AG Kalisch, AG Stroh und AG Tüscher, untersuchen systemische Resilienzmechanismen, insbesondere neuronale Netzwerkaktivitäten und neurokognitive Prozesse. Die Forschung wird sowohl im Tiermodell als auch an gesunden Probanden durchgeführt. Ziel ist es, potenzielle systemische Resilienzmechanismen zu identifizieren und zu validieren, um diese dann in neurobiologisch-basierte resilienzfördernde Maßnahmen, zum Beispiel Neurostimulationsverfahren, für Menschen zu übersetzen, die dann im Forschungsbereich "Kognitive und Verhaltensmechanismen der Resilienz" aufgegriffen und validiert werden können. Zur Identifizierung und Validierung von Resilienzmechanismen werden notwendigerweise auch prospektive Langzeitstudien an Probanden hinzugezogen. Hier sind insbesondere die Langzeitstudien "Mainzer Resilienz-Projekt" (MARP) und "Longitudinal Assessment of Resilience" (LORA) zu nennen.

Die drei Arbeitsgruppen im Forschungsbereich "Kognitive und Verhaltensmechanismen der Resilienz", AG Lieb, AG Rigotti und AG Wessa, entwickeln, basierend auf dem Verständnis von Resilienzmechanismen, die unter anderem in den anderen beiden Forschungsbereichen des LIR identifiziert und validiert werden, neurokognitive Maßnahmen und Verhaltensmaßnahmen zur Förderung von Resilienz. Mögliche Methoden umfassen Neurostimulation, Neurofeedback, Smartphone-Applikationen sowie Online- und computergestützte Tools, aber auch pharmakologische Interventionen. Zur Evaluation der Wirksamkeit der Trainings und Interventionen werden offene sowie randomisiert-kontrollierte Studien mit Unterstützung der Plattform Clinical Investigation Center (CIC) durchgeführt. Diese neuentwickelten Strategien fließen langfristig in die wissenschaftsbasierten Dienstleistungen ein, um diese der Gesellschaft zugänglich zu machen. Forschungsbereich "Kognitive und Verhaltensmechanismen der Resilienz" umfasst außerdem die Analyse von Resilienzmechanismen in beruflichen und privaten Lebenskontexten durch Feldstudien, das Erstellen von systematischen Reviews und Meta-Analysen bezüglich der Bedeutung von Resilienzfaktoren und der Wirksamkeit von Resilienzinterventionen sowie die Bearbeitung ethischer Fragen und Methodenkritik zum Thema Resilienz.

Kontakt
Leibniz-Institut für Resilienzforschung (LIR) gGmbH
Wallstraße 7
55122 Mainz
Tel.: +49 (0)6131 89448-77
Rechtliches